A quick word on the Naptime Chronicles

So, my daily battle with Vivi’s naptime continues. We seemed to turn the corner yesterday, but sadly, today is another story.

I tried a couple of things yesterday that I thought worked. First, I pushed Vivi’s awake time as long as I could – in the morning, 15 minutes longer than normal, and in the afternoon, almost an hour longer than normal. She was mega-grumpy, but I persevered and did everything I could to keep her awake and as happy as possible. Second, I kept a very close eye on her while nursing. The very moment I noticed her getting drowsy, I woke her up – no mini catnaps on my watch, y’all.

Lo and behold, she took two great naps yesterday! The first nap was almost two hours, and the second nap was an hour and half. That’s more than double the amount of daytime sleep she normally gets. You can only imagine the “happy dance” I was doing all over the house. (Actually, I’ll spare you – it wasn’t pretty, but it was oh so happy!)

I congratulated myself on solving the mystery, and I was ready to go again today. Sadly, it hasn’t quite worked out as I expected it would. I think the fly in the ointment has been an early wake-up that threw off the rest of the day. Vivi woke up an hour earlier than normal (6AM) and wanted to nurse. I fed her, and then she went back to sleep for two more hours. I guess I should think of that as a victory, but it feels less like a nap and more like an extension of her nighttime sleep.

Anyway, Vivi just wrapped up her first “real” nap. Again, I kept her awake as long as I could – about 30 minutes longer than usual. She fussed for about 15 minutes, then slept… blast, only 35 minutes! I let her stay in her crib for another 30 minutes just in case she’d go back to sleep, but no dice. I’m going to get her out now.

Wish me luck for a better afternoon nap!

Leave a Reply

