Well, hello again.

Sorry for being MIA lately! I’ve been reading a new book (the first book in the Game of Thrones series), so when Vivian is asleep, I’ve either been doing chores or reading. I’m really enjoying the book; I watched the first season on HBO, which is making it easier to follow the story, especially since I am reading in spurts. There are a LOT of characters. Although, I have to ask, does anyone else struggle with some of the characters being so young? On the show, Robb, Jon, and Dany all seem to be in their early 20s while in the books they are barely 14. That was hard for me to digest at first, considering what these characters go through. Otherwise, I think the casting on the show is perfect!

So, we had a big triumph here at the Ray house this weekend. On Saturday, Vivian moved from our room to her own room. We used our pediatrician’s tip and put the bouncy chair directly in her crib to help her transition. I was a little nervous that it might flip over (I read a horror story on the internet about a baby suffocating in a turned-over bouncer), but our bouncer is so wide, almost like a pappasan chair, that it barely fits in the crib. We lowered the crib mattress, and to be extra safe, I used a yoga strap to secure the bouncer. It can still bounce, but it can’t tip over. I know, I know… overprotective momma bear.

Lo and behold, on the first night in her own room Vivian slept 11 hours without a peep! The second night also went well, but on the third night she woke up at 5AM to nurse. Luckily, she went right back to sleep afterwards. She doesn’t seem to miss sleeping in our room at all. We are going to keep her in the bouncy for another couple weeks, then we will transition her by removing the bouncy and letting her sleep directly in the crib. I’m a little nervous about that, but I’m trying not to get ahead of myself. As my friend Lori told me, they call it “baby steps” for a reason.

In other news, I had a wonderful Mother’s Day. I was reading in bed (alone in my bedroom, crazy!) at midnight when Brad came in and told me to check my blog. He surprised me by writing a guest post. It was seriously the sweetest thing ever. I teared up when I read it. Love, love, love! The next morning Brad treated me to Shipley’s donuts and a Starbucks mocha for breakfast, then we had lunch at Texan Cafe, one of my favorite home-cooking places in Hutto. I also got a gift certificate for a massage, which I can hardly wait to use.

We visited my mom in the afternoon, and we took some great photos. I’m working on getting them edited and will post them soon.

In the meantime, here are a few photos of Vivi playing in her exer-saucer for the first time. She is still a little short for it… so we had to come up with a creative solution so that her toes will touch the ground. Thanks Jon Stewart!

 

Leave a Reply

