Bits and Pieces

Hi everyone! Hope you’re having a good week so far. Just a few bits and pieces from me…

  • We had a couple trees removed from our yard last week. One tree in the corner of our back yard was 100% dead. I was so worried that it died because of oak wilt and that all of my oaks were on death row. Luckily the deceased turned out to be an Arizona Ash, not an oak at all. The tree guy said it probably died because of the drought – I gave an audible sigh of relief! We also removed about 60% of a live tree that was rubbing up against our house. There was a big squirrel nest in that tree, and I can’t help wondering about the water cooler gossip in the squrirel neighborhood after it was removed.

“Did you hear? … McNutterson’s house just DISAPPEARED last week!”

  •  Vivian had her four month appointment on Thursday. For the most  part, it went really well. Her head circumferance and height are both in the 75th percentile, and her weight is in the 50th percentile.
  • I asked a lot of questions (surprise, surprise) at the appointment. When the doctor asked how she was sleeping, I sheepishly told him that she still sleeps in a bouncy in our room. To my shock and delight, he told me that his daughter also slept in a bouncy chair until 5 months! I couldn’t believe it. In my mind, I sort of pictured doctors’ kids as super-babies who don’t have problems like not wanting to sleep in a crib. I have to admit it made me feel better to know that even doctors resort to letting their babies sleep in non-cribs in order to get better shut-eye. He recommended that I move the bouncy into her crib for a few days or weeks to help her get acclimated to sleeping in her own room. Once she is comfortable in her room, remove the bouncy and let her start sleeping directly in the crib. I talked to Brad about it, and we agreed that we’ll try it. We are going to start this Friday night.
  • Vivi is rolling over like crazy now! She can do it so quickly. No more Vivi hanging out in the middle of the bed while I brush my teeth, I guess. She still rolls from back to tummy (no tummy to back yet but I think it’s coming soon). Vivi is also raising her knees quite a bit and trying to scoot forward. It’s really cute… until she gets frustrated that she’s not going anywhere (and even that’s pretty cute too).
  • I’m thinking about buying a high chair soon, though I don’t think I’ll start solids this month. A lot of the research I’ve read recommends waiting until 6 months to start solids for breastfed babies. I’m not sure I’ll wait that long… I’m just sort of playing it by ear and will start it when it feels right.
  • Since I spend so much more time at home now, I find myself making a never-ending list of projects… weed the front flower bed, fix the kitchen light, paint the guest room nightstands, etc. Sadly, there’s only enough time to make the list, not actually time to do any of the things on the list.
  • One of my friends told me that her mom regretted spending so much time cleaning/housekeeping as a stay-at-home mom and that if she could do it over again, she would have stopped and played with the kids more often. When I start to get overwhelmed by cleaning to-dos, I stop and ask myself: why did you quit your outside-of-the-home job? To keep house? Or to give one-on-one love and attention to Vivian? That always helps me to ignore the pile of laundry and just focus on playing and talking to Vivi. Sure, I don’t get much done, but I figure I’ll never regret having a dirty house.

Speaking of, I can hear Little Miss talking in the other room – naptime is over!

Leave a Reply

