Hiatus is a funny sounding word.

Well, my friends, my short blogging hiatus seems to be ending. As you may have read here or there, I returned to work in mid March. Surprisingly, I decided not to blog about my return to work. To be honest, thoughts were bouncing around in my head like ping pong balls, and I don’t think I could have articulated how I was feeling.

The long and short of it is, I tried it. I figured out what I did and didn’t want, and I made a decision. I did full-time (albeit full time working from home) for a little over two weeks. Several days in, I knew that it wasn’t what I wanted. Fortunately for me, Brad and I have been planning (and saving) for years to give me the option to stay home with a baby. Given the option, I couldn’t pass it up.

I briefly explored working part-time. It was so tempting – keeping a second income! keeping my marketing brain sharp! – but in the end, I realized that my heart wanted to be home full-time. If I tried to work part-time, I would end up either losing part of my dream, or being a full-time mommy by day and a part-time marketer by night/nap-times. I didn’t think it was the right solution for me, for Vivian, or for the company.

I said goodbye with a heavy heart. It’s funny – working in the corporate world oftentimes exhausted me to the point of tears. There were times that I would have gladly stamped my little feet right out the door. Instead, I have found myself tearing up over leaving. Closing this chapter of my life is bittersweet. Over the course of the last five years, I’ve grown in ways I never would have imagined, and I’ve made lifelong friends and mentors.

Another chapter closed, perhaps to be reopened again someday? Now on to the next great adventure.

Bum-bum-buuuuuuuummmmmm!

P.S. Did anyone else watch tonight’s episode of Game of Thrones? Another incestuous storyline – creeped me out, y’all!

Leave a Reply

