In honor of SXSW, let your hipster flag fly.

The Black Keys are all over the place these days. You can hear their latest albums, Brothers or El Camino, on the radio or catch one of their songs in a TV commercial. But before they hit the big time, they were mine.

Well, more like ours. Brad introduced me to The Black Keys in college. I remember driving around College Station the summer of 2005 (and long afterwards) jamming out to ThickFreakness and my favorite album, Rubber Factory. I remember being so jealous when Brad saw them in concert at a small venue in Austin (I was stuck at home, studying for the LSAT). Funny to think the next time I saw them, they were playing to a huge crowd at ACL Fest.

I’ve bought both of their recent albums, and there are some great songs. Their sound has definitely matured over the years, but I’ll always prefer “Grown So Ugly” and “10 AM Automatic” to “Lonely Boy” or “Tighten Up”.

Brad told me a joke tonight:

Why did the hipster burn his tongue?

. . . Because he ate his pizza before it was cool.

I may not be a true-blue hipster, but I have my moments.

Leave a Reply

