The thrill of it all

Though this blog will cover more than just parenting, one of my main reasons for writing is to document and share my experience as a new parent – the highs, the lows, and everything in between. As I was musing over what it means to be a parent, the word “adventure” kept popping up, and I found myself pondering the meaning of the word. My solution was (no surprise) to google it. Here’s what I found.

ad·ven·ture
Pronunciation: \əd-ˈven-chər\
1 : an undertaking usually involving danger and unknown risks
2 : an exciting or remarkable experience
3 : an enterprise involving financial risk

Man oh man, doesn’t that hit the nail on the head? Becoming a parent is no doubt one of life’s great adventures. There’s something new around every corner, and no matter how much you try to prepare, you will be surprised.

If you know me, you know I’m a planner extraordinaire. When I learned I was expecting our first baby, I bought or borrowed book after book on child birth, child care, sleep training, and breastfeeding. There were lists – oh, were there ever – and I asked questions of all the moms in my life, young and not-so-young. In the end, nothing really prepares you for parenting.

I thought I was a wimp when it came to pain (I didn’t have a clue). I thought I knew what “sleep deprivation” was (I didn’t have a clue). I thought I knew love (I didn’t have a clue).

In just two short months, I learned that I’m brave and much stronger than I ever would have expected. I learned that when sleep deprived, you can forget people’s names, even people you’ve known for years. I’ve learned that you can love someone so much that you feel your heart near-bursting with joy.

And so begins a little post series I like to call, “Expecting the Unexpecting”. Every so often, I’ll post about an unplanned turn of events in my journey as a parent. First up: sleep arrangements.

Leave a Reply

